About The Education Cooperative (TEC)

The Education Cooperative (TEC) is a Massachusetts educational collaborative and 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that develops and coordinates educational and organizational programs to meet the needs of our member communities and their students in a way that complements and strengthens their school programs and expands opportunities for their students, educators and communities in the most cost effective manner. TEC is the oldest collaborative in Massachusetts. It was established in 1968 by a group  of visionary educational leaders and school committee members and became a Educational Collaborative in 1980 under the provisions of M.G.L. c. 40, § 4E and is approved by the Massachusetts Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.

TEC provides a range of programs and  services for our districts including:

  • DESE approved Public Day School programs serving students ages 3-22 years of age:
    • TEC Campus School for studens with moderate to severe special needs;
    • TEC High School and TEC Phoenix Academy, alternative high school programs offering academic, vocational and social skills programs supporting students with emotional issues such as anxiety, depression, and school avoidance;
    • Transition Programs supporting students who are transitioning from high school settings to community-based adult living experiences;
  • Educator professional development, job-alike networking groups;
  • Sponsoring organization of TECCA , the Commonwealth Virtual School;
  • TEC Online Academy - supplemental online courses for students;
  • TEC Student Data Privacy Alliance;
  • Student school-to-career internship opportunities and college fairs;
  • State and national cooperative purchasing program.

TEC does not discriminate on the basis of color, disability, gender, national origin, ancestry, race, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, veteran status, military service, genetic information or any other legally protected classification.

TEC's Member Districts

The TEC member districts are: CantonDedhamDoverDover-SherbornFraminghamHollistonHopkintonMedfield, MedwayMillisNatickNeedhamNorwoodSherbornWalpoleWayland, and Westwood.

Scroll to Top